Cebu Provincial Capitol : Cebu’s Seat of Power

Glowing in immaculate white, Cebu Provincial Capitol is an iconic edifice of the province. Dubbed as the White House of Asia, it is as delicately beautiful as the former.

Created by a Filipino genius architect Juan Arellano during the American colonial era. It embodies the Neo-classical architecture a style which features the ancient Roman and Greek style yet presented in a contemporary way. Cebu Provincial Capitol is one of the oldest of its kind in the province or the country that was built during the Commonwealth republic.

img_7390
Cebu’s Provincial Capitol is one of the prominent symbol of Cebu 
img_7391
The Capitol as local calls it has a dome and a conclave with a man and a woman dressed in Roman traditional wear.

Since its creation in 1938, it has been the seat of power in Cebu. One lazy Sunday afternoon after a short chitchat over a cup of coffee at Bo’s coffee with a friend along Jones Avenue. We opted for a quick visit at Cebu’s Provincial Capitol which a stone throw away from the coffee shop.

img_7443
The man in the Cebu Capitol in focus is painted in gold is holding a winged-wheel and a sheld

Cebu Provincial Capitol : Cebu’s seat of Power

With years on the making, seeing it now all the waiting did not went into vain. Cebu’s Provincial Capitol ranks among the beautiful government edifices all across the Philippine archipelago that every true-blue Cebuano must be proud of!

Governor Sotero Cabahug played the most significant role in the creation of this wonderful piece of art, an icon of Cebu more importantly the seat of power in Cebu. Upon its completion under the administration of Gov. Buenaventura Rodriguez.

The Capitol as the Cebuano’s would fondly call this massive edifice houses the governors office, a gallery and museum of past governor, a social hall, some board rooms, offices and among others.

The captivating Cebu Provincial Capitol

At glance the Capitol is an eye candy at the bustling Jones Avenue either by day or night along the long stretch of congested road. Strategically located paralleled to another icon of the province that every true-blue Cebuano can easily recognize , the Fuente Osmena circle which is 1 kilometer from the Cebu’s Provincial Capitol.

img_7387
Glowing in white Cebu’s Provincial Capitol is an eyecandy in Jones avenue for passerby 

Noticeable from a far is the intriguing dome and u-shape feature  at the center of the creamy white edifice. The central concave inscribed with the following wordings: “The authority of the government emanates from the people. Erected in MCMXXXVII.” A constant reminder to every true-blue Cebuano. Sharing the capitol grounds are two proud sons of Cebu. Standing proudly on the right side of the Capitol is a golden statue of Sergio Osmeña, Sr.  while a statue of Lapulapu stands on the left side .

img_7426
A true-blue Cebuano President of the Republic of the Philippines, Sergio Osmenia, Sr. The only  Cebuano President to date.
img_7416
Another great son of Cebu is the first Filipino Hero is the  brave Rajah Lapu lapu or more commonly known as Lapu lapu 

Recently the Capitol Provincial Capitol got a national distinction being listed one of the Philippines historical site. In time of Cebu’s 439th founding anniversary, the National Historical Institute put a historical marker in the Capitol.

Getting to Cebu’s Provincial Capitol

Getting in to Cebu’s Provincial Capitol is just a piece of cake. Taking the local way, ride in a jeepney. If you are coming from the downtown of Cebu in Colon you ride a jeepney going to Guadalupe, Ayala, IT Park or Lahug with Capitol in the signage in front of the jeep glass window.  As of this writing, the basic fare is only PHP 7.00 or USD 0.15 only for regular passengers while students and senior citizen is only PHP 6.00 or USD 0.12

img_7413
Cebu’s Provincial Capitol was built during the Common Wealth Republic .

Also you can reach this place by taxi, just tell the taxi driver to take you to the Capitol. While heading to the Capitol you can enjoy a glimpse of the Fuente Osmena circle fountain while circling the rotunda.

 

Thoughts about the Cebu’s Provincial Capitol 

All these years living at the Queen city of the South , I can’t help but be mesmerize of this beautiful work of art. Significantly, this place is a site of rich place of Cebu’s history and political growth that shaped today’s society.

As a true-Blue Cebuano, I can proudly recommend a visit here to have a complete  Cebu city tour.  In you opinion, what is the best building you have seen in Cebu?

img_7405
Yours truly at the facade of the Capitol

Daghang Salamat sa pagbisita higala. Thanks for dropping by! 

 

You might want to check out these other iconic places in Cebu

14 thoughts on “Cebu Provincial Capitol : Cebu’s Seat of Power

  1. This is really beautiful as you said, I have not been to Cebu but this is yet another confirmation of how beautiful and stunning it is. I have plans to go there, but we have a lot of planning to do and I want the trip to go as smoothly as possible. I will tweet this post too, it is great!

    Like

  2. this is so beautiful and I would hope to be able to visit Cebu one fine day soon… I am still kicking myself for giving away my free ticket the last time just because some friends told me it was risky traveling around that monsoon time where the risk of typhoons and strong winds might ruin the holiday…. huhuhu

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, I have been passing by here for several times, but I ignore its beauty. Perhaps because I was in Cebu for quite sometimes already. Yeah, you’re right, this should be seen by travelers whenever they get the chance to go here in Cebu to complete their City tour. Anyway, the photos are well captured.

    LaiAriel

    Like

  4. Awesome! I’m actually starting to plan my Cebu itinerary for June 2017. I know it’s still a long way to go but I’m just to excited! I’ll definitely book mark this place for the future! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Another thing that I missed in Cebu. I went there years ago and didn’t like it that much. Turns out I missed so many good things that it has to offer. So now I found another reason to go back. I definitely want to check the Provincial Capitol myself. It looks splendid.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I had been to Cebu several times before but I still haven’t seen this place. Seeing this reminded me of Hunger Games :)) When I return to Cebu, this will definitely be part of my city tour. I’m sure my partner will also enjoy looking at it.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’ve been to Cebu but that was a long, long time ago (college!) when I attended the Ad Congress at the Waterfront. I haven’t explored the beaches though and I plan to do that with my husband soon. The places you mentioned are worth checking out too!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I went to the provincial capitol in 2015, when my boyfriend and I went there. It was right about the ASEAN summit (I think). I really liked looking at the flags of each municipality. It just adds more personality to the already famous Cebu. I’m yet to be back!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Living in the city for quite years already, I never tried setting a foot at the place. Though I occasionally passed by at the place, but I never tried stopping and take a pic of myself there. hahah funny noh? I am not sure though but I was thinking of visiting, it’s just that I am afraid baka bawal. lol but now I know that it is pretty fine.

    Like

  10. The last time I was in Cebu was in 2009. I haven’t been back again eversince. I have always seen the Provincial Capitol on my way to work and back again when I lived there for about a year so I am quite familiar with how this building looks. Thank you for sharing the little details and for highlighting the history of this structure.

    Liked by 1 person

Share you thoughts!

